Roast beef leftovers

So in my last post I was saying how I got a buy 1 get 1 free coupon for roasts from save on foods. I made dinner for my family and mother for her birthday and had lots of left overs. I decided to get creative and turn that roast into 5 different meals.

The first meal that I made from the left over roast was Hot Roast Beef Sandwiches. Boy do I love hot roast beef sandwiches! My grandfather used to make the best hot roast beef sandwiches! Anyways, here is the recipe.

Hot Roast beef Sandwiches

Ingredients

Roast beef, Sliced thin

Left over gravy, or just make my favorite gravy recipe!

2 slices of bread, cut in half

Heat a non-stick medium pan on medium heat. Add the sliced roast beef just to get it hot. In a small pot place the left over gravy or go ahead and make my favorite gravy recipe. Heat on medium low heat until hot. Stir.

When the beef is hot pile it high on the slices of bread and pour over the gravy. Serve with a side salad or left over vegetables from your roast beef dinner. Simple and delicious comfort food.

The second meal I made from the left over roast beef was Beef fajitas. Sounds simple but when you use fresh ingredients and put it together just right you get a completely different meal from the first two. Here is my recipe..

Beef fajitas

Ingredients

Left over Roast beef, sliced in strips, about 1 lb

olive oil, to coat the pan

1 red pepper, sliced into strips

1 orange pepper, sliced into strips

2 yellow onions, sliced

1 jalapeno, seeded and cored,finely chopped

1 small bunch cilantro, chopped

1 and a half limes, juiced

beef broth or water about 1 cup

My fajita seasoning mix ( recipe follows) or you can use a fajita pack and spice it up with some red chili flakes

Whole wheat or any kind of tortilla

Heat a large non stick skillet on medium high heat. Add the olive oil to coat the pan. Next add the peppers, onions and jalapeno and mix well. Saute for about 3 minutes then add the roast beef to the pan. Saute the veggies with the beef for about 3 more minutes then turn the heat up to about medium high heat and add the seasoning.  Mix in the seasoning well then add either the beef broth or water to deglaze the pan. Next add in the lime juice and if you want you may add the cilantro. (Because of the kids I normally just add mine to my wrap so I don’t get ugly looks across the table!)

Once the liquid reduces to about half turn it down to low heat and simmer 5 minutes. This is when you want to get your wraps warmed and every condiment out! I usually go for sour cream, salsa, cilantro,lettuce, tomatoes, diced jalapeno, a little squirt of fresh lime and shredded cheese.

Serve it family style and let everyone dress their own fajita. Enjoy:)

My Home made fajita seasoning

Ingredients

2 tbsp salt

3 tbsp pepper

2 tbsp garlic powder

1 tbsp onion powder

3 tbsp chili powder

2 tbsp oregano leaves

2 tbsp cumin

1 tbsp paprika

1 tbsp red chili flakes

In a small bowl combine spices. Mix well and store in airtight container. You can also double or triple the recipe and keep it on hand for a quick fajita meal. Not only is it more affordable than buying the packs of seasoning it’s also healthier. The fajita packs are full of sodium that you don’t need!

My next post will reveal my third meal from one roast beef! Stay tuned….

Leave a Reply

