Elmo Cake Creation

My son Jayden turned two this year. I cannot believe how fast that came! For his second birthday I wanted to do an elmo cake since he just love love loves elmo! I should let you know that this was the first birthday character cake I have ever made. I just started baking over 2 years ago. I have taught myself everything. Ive always been a good cook but never a baker. So for this cake I wanted it to be perfect. Because it was my first cake I decided to stay on the safe side and do a mold cake. I purchased this mold from a great baking shop near my house.

elmo mold

So first I wanted to get a really good cake recipe for the cake. I picked the extreme chocolate cake recipe from allrecipes.com (I’ll post a link to this later) So I made the batter and baked the cake in the mold. I inverted it onto my cake board and put it in the freezer to cool for 1 hour.

While it was in the freezer i went ahead and made a butter cream icing for the cake. I would recommend using 2 recipes of the same butter cream recipe because I found I needed more icing with just 1.  I used the best butter cream frosting recipe from food network. I will post the recipe later.

After I finished making  the frosting I divided it into 4 bowls. In the first bowl I put about 1/2 of the icing in for the red hair. For this I added the red food coloring gel and mixed until I got the desired color.

In the next bowl I added about 1/4 a cup of icing for the nose. I added 3 drops of yellow liquid food coloring and 1 drop of red liquid food coloring to get a bright orange color and mixed.

In the next bowl I added about a 1/4 cup of icing and to that added the black gel food coloring and mixed well.

In the last bowl I added the left over icing. I did not use food coloring because this was for the eyes.

When I had all of my frosting ready I took the cake out of the freezer.

I started with the mouth. I outlined it first with the black icing using a small round tip. I then filled in the mouth with the black icing and spread it smooth with my finger dipped in corn starch (such a great tip!)

Next I went onto the nose. I took the orange icing and outlined the nose first using a small round tip. I then filled in the nose with the same tip as well as using my finger dipped in corn starch for a nice smooth finish.

IMG_1331

When I was done the nose I went onto the eyes. I got my white icing and outlined the eyes first. Again, I took my finger dipped in cornstarch and spread it evenly. I found the eyes to be the most intensive part since I wanted it to look really smooth and perfect!

When that white was all filled in I went on to do the pupils. Because I wanted a perfect circle I used a small cap I had lying around and placed it on the spot I wanted the pupil. I then outlined the circle with my black frosting and took the circle off. I filled in the circle and once again smoothed it out with my finger dipped in cornstarch. Just a little side note here…i found having one dry and one wet towel around really helped instead of constantly  getting up to wipe my hands..

IMG_1332

Last but not least the fun part: The hair. Because I have limited cake decorating supplies ,(im waiting for hubby to buy me my ultimate cake decorating set from wilton..wink, wink, nudge, nudge) I used the star tip for the hair. Normally you would want to use the hair one. But I found the star tip worked out pretty good! So I attached the star tip and pressed down on the cake and straight up quickly to get a hair look. I did this all around the outline of the cake first, then filled in the middle. And pow! Done!

IMG_1335

Just to let you guys know the pictures for this tutorial where from my tester cake. I always make a tester cake because I am not that experienced with baking character cakes. I don’t think I got any photos of the actual cake but it turned out much better!

It turned out a success and my son just loved it! Plus the good thing is even thougt I spent about 20 bucks on the mold I will use it again since my sister and sister-in-law are both pregnant with boys! So all in all I think it was worth the time,effort and money to build this cake:)

I also made these cute last-minute cupcakes for my son because he also LOVES the cookie monster. 🙂

IMG_1378

Can you tell he loved them? 😉

IMG_1376 IMG_1373

IMG_1386

Leave a Reply

