Barbie Princess Cake Tutorial

IMG_1351 IMG_1352 IMG_1353 576941_10151529252791075_1288965839_n

My niece Marisol had her 5th birthday party a couple of months ago. I offered to do the cake for her as her birthday present. She was so set on having a Princess cake I just couldnt Refuse. I set out and looked online for some tutorials and recipes. For this cake I used a Pyrex Glass bowl, and 3  8″ cake pans. I made 2 different cake recipes for this one. One was a sprinkles cake recipe (i will post later) and the other was a chocolate cake recipe (again I will post later).

For the Sprinkles cake I made the batter and divided it in the Pyrex bowl and 1 of the 8″ cake pans. The other 2 8″ pans were divided among the Chocolate Cake batter. I baked them in the oven at 350 degrees until a cake tester inserted came out clean. I then let them cool on a wire rack for about 30 minutes.

After they were cooled down I inverted them onto a flat plate each. I then put them into the freezer for an hour. When they were in the freezer I proceeded to make my frosting. For this cake I made 3 frostings. The first one I made was a marshmallow frosting. The second was a classic buttercream. And the third was a chocolate fudge filling.

When the frostings were done I separated them into different bowls. For the marshmallow frosting I kept half white and in separate bowls I dyed 1 a lavender purple and the other a bright yellow. I also dyed for my crumb coat a fushia pink.

For the buttercream frosting I dyed some bright yellow and the other a lavender purple.

And finally for the Chocolate fudge filling I left it as is.

When the hour was up I took the cakes out of the freezer and used a circle cookie cutter and cut a hole in the centre of each cake.

Next I spread some of my chocolate fudge frosting onto my cake board to secure the cake. Then I placed the first 8″ round cake onto the frosting and secured it. I then frosted the top of that with some chocolate fudge frosting, leaving the sides untouched. I continued this with the second and third layers. I then inverted the pyrex bowl layer onto the top and centred it to match all the holes.

I placed the cake back into the freezer for 45 minutes just so it would harden up a bit. I took it out of the freezer and started my “crumb” coat (a crumb coat is a thin layer of frosting to secure all the crumbs, so when you do your final frosting you get a nice clean look). For the “crumb coat” I used the lavender purple buttercream. I then put it into the freezer again for about 30-40 minutes.

I took it out of the freezer and placed slices of parchment paper around the sides so i could get a nice clean finish when I take it off.

Now it is time to do your final coat of buttercream lavender frosting. I start from the top and work my way down until the bottom. Next Smooth out the icing.

A great tip for getting a smooth finish on the final coat of frosting is to use a sliced piece of scrap paper and start from the bottom and curl the paper and go all the way up to get a smooth finish.

Now its time to get creative. You can go about now and use whatever frosting you want and pipe what ever design you can think of on the dress. I decided to go for a pillow-y back to make it look more layered then i split it in the front and did come flowers and some borders. I also added flower candies and it tied into the dress so well.

There is no rule here! Do whatever you want. When you are done creating your design take the parchment paper off the bottom and insert the Barbie doll in the centre. After that you are going to what to do a design around the waist to tie the dress and the boddess together. I bought a Barbie doll with a painted on boddess and i just started from there!

Let me know what you guys think! Happy Baking!

Leave a Reply

